Arthritis Champions Scholarship

November is National Scholarship Month and the Arthritis Foundation is proud to offer the Arthritis Champions Scholarship to deserving students across the country who exemplify the Champion of Yes spirit. Formerly, the Winterhoff Arthritis Scholarship, the Arthritis Champions Scholarship program is generously funded by the Walter J. and Kathryn M. Winterhoff Endowed Scholarship Fund and the NEW Dr. Smriti Bardhan College Scholarship Fund.

In 2018, Dr. Smriti Bardhan College Scholarship Fund was created to help the next generation with arthritis achieve their goals.  Dr. Bardhan lived with boundless energy and a zest for life.  She did not let her rheumatoid arthritis curb her independence, drive and positive energy. Those that knew her best were inspired by her perseverance through the debilitating state of her arthritis.  She was dedicated to her community and as a scientist to cracking the genetic code to revolutionize treatments for future generations. Dr. Bardhan, like millions of others living with arthritis, strived each day to live her best life.

In 2007, Walter J. and Kathryn M. Winterhoff Endowed Scholarship Fund was created to provide an educational scholarship program for students with rheumatic diseases. Walter and Kay Winterhoff were Tucson residents and had passion for the work of the Arthritis Foundation. This passion evolved because Kay had arthritis and refused to let it get in the way of her love for tennis and golf. This scholarship commenced in fall 2010 at three public universities in Arizona: Arizona State University, University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University.

  • Since 2010, the Arthritis Foundation has granted nearly $500,000 in scholarship awards to 42 college students
  • In 2017, this scholarship program grew to a nationwide opportunity that has granted awards to 22 students across the country
  • Since 2017, the Arthritis Foundation has received nearly 800 scholarship applications
Congratulations to the 2019-2020 scholarship recipients:

Jacob A.                    Penn State University College of Medicine
Claire B.                     Tufts University
Andrew B.                  Purdue University
Brittany C.                  Johns Hopkins University
Andrew C.                 Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Kylie M.                       Suffolk County Community College
Rachel M.                  California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo
Emily M.                      Arizona State University
Laniese P.                   John Brown University
Katlin P.                      Wake Forest School of Medicine
Kristen P                      College of William & Mary College of William & Mary
Olivia P.                      Grand Canyon University
Valerie R.                   University of Mississippi
Emily T.                        Springfield College

The 2020-2021 Arthritis Champions Scholarship program will open in January 2020. Additional details and application will be posted here

If you have questions, please contact Jennifer Ziegler at or 470-481-4921.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *